One year ago in June: The Grand Central

A tune kept looping in my head. It took me some time to notice it above the buzzing hum. Then, feeling the energy of the human tide sway past me, suddenly it clicked: I was living in a scene from Koyaanisqatsi and the tune was Philip Glass’ hypnotic circular soundtrack. Anyone who has seen the film and tried to stand still inside the Grand Central Main Lobby, will know the feeling.

I looked straight ahead and saw shadows of people walking by, behind the giant glass panels at the far end. Intrigued, I searched for an entrance. It wasn’t easy but I found it – at least, I think I did… only to be stopped by a guard.

– For residents only, ma’am!

There are residents at the Grand Central? Hiding my surprise I thanked him and made a mental note to include it in my list of ”favourite buildings with secret corners”.

Then we headed down the vaulted aisle of the Food Hall to find the Oyster Bar, where the seafood is fresh and the wine delicious, simply mouth-watering. We would have been discouraged by the incredible crowds and noise had it not been for a tip by a friend who had been scouting NYC just ahead of us. My tip: leave some room for dessert. There is a Magnolia Bakery on your way out; their lime cheesecake (and everything else really…) is divine!

DSC01636

DSC01638

DSC01641

DSC01642

DSC03138

WP_20140604_17_58_10_Raw

WP_20140604_18_53_17_Raw

Koyaanisqatsi (1982)

Grand Central Oyster Bar & Restaurant

Magnolia Bakery

Shared credits for  images (Lia & Konstantinos)

New York, 05 June 2014

3 thoughts on “One year ago in June: The Grand Central

Chatroom | The Floor is Yours

