Film & TV: TEOREMA (1968)

For a shamefully long period in my life, I had little to do with film or television. Somewhere between the outdoor child and the young professional, working for travel and travelling for work, I managed to lose touch with this fantasy world. But I got lucky: some 10 years ago, I met my current partner who was born a true cinephile. With his patient guidance and a lot of private crash courses, I made up for the lost time and, although far from being an expert, I feel confident enough to share my recently acquired personal taste and views. Because a journal without any reference to cinema or television would be incomplete and, also, because I love (vintage) film posters. I’ll be dropping in this category whenever I watch a film or series that’s worth mentioning. Not everything I watch is new or a blockbuster and I very rarely actually go to the theatre, because I keep getting distracted by people chatting, texting or twitting incessantly. DVD releases are fairly fast (if not simultaneous) and I can wait. Also, our film archive at home is so huge, we never run short of options. And the sofa really comfy…

It is a great pleasure to launch this category with a film that excited my imagination just by reading about it:

TEOREMA (1968) – Pier Paolo Pasolini

officine-cinematografiche.noblogs.org_1Plot Summary IMDb: A strange visitor in a wealthy family. He seduces the maid, the son, the mother, the daughter and finally the father before leaving a few days after. After he’s gone, none of them can continue living as they did. Who was that visitor ? Could he be God ?

My Plot Summary: An enigmatic visitor with huge charisma appears suddenly in the lives of a bourgeois family. After he seduces the maid, the son, the mother, the daughter and the father he leaves them abruptly, offering no explanation, to sort out their -devastated- lives, each one absorbing the shock of this departure in his/her way. A film of sparse words and for that, all the more accentuated performances. Terence Stamp in his prime and Silvana Mangano in her voluptuous best. Pasolini dealing with a number of his existential ‘demons’: class, marxism, christianity, homosexuality…

Recommended: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
Those who look for mystery and symbolism will definitely appreciate it. But also, gorgeous ’68 Milan style deco and fashion, sunken living room (like in Mad Men but the original!!).

Have a look at  the slideshow with a few of the film’s posters that caught my eye, collected from different sites.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Watched on: 14 July 2013

11 thoughts on “Film & TV: TEOREMA (1968)

  1. Sounds intriguing! Will add this to my list of movies to watch 🙂 I’ve hardly been to the cinema in the past years, probably watched a movie on the big screen thrice in the last five years! The other times have been in flights and on the home laptop.

Chatroom | The Floor is Yours

